When your airtime vanishes, cuplrit’s not Econet Zimbabwe

Today, I am taking an unusual step to defend Econet Zimbabwe​ against the uninformed people throw tantrums at the country’s largest mobile network service provider, accusing it of ‘stealing’ their valuable airtime.

Not in any way am I undermining the pain one goes through when their airtime just vanishes, I once went through it myself when I had my first smart phone a few years ago, but I have learned my lessons.

When your airtime vanishes and you have an Android device, its purely your fault.

I know nothing about iOS devices because I have never been able to afford one and in that regard if your Apple phone chews up your airtime, perhaps yes, you can throw as much flak on Econet cause, they could be to blame.

But here are the facts on Android devices.

Android powered devices have default auto-update and background data service settings which allow the phone to immediately update or run background data services as soon as you load airtime.

So, as soon as you load airtime, your phone starts doing that background stuff.

What this means in simple terms is this; most, if not all the Apps on your Android device require the internet here and there- chiefly for updates and location services.

So during that time when you do not have internet, your Apps, be they games or photo editors, among many, will be waiting patiently for the time when you have airtime and subsequently, data connection access.

As soon as you load airtime, the Apps start communicating for updates and if there are any, downloads will start immediately.

Remember the data tariffs of Econet and the rest are ridiculously expensive at 10 megabytes for a dollar and what this means is if your App is 30 megabytes and it is updating itself, it will cost you three hard-to-earn dollars.

What this means is that if you ‘juice your phone’ with a dollar and you have an App more than 10 megabytes updating, it will chew the dollar and still fail to update.

The next time you have airtime, the same App starts downloading the same update afresh.

IF you go to the data usage settings of your phone, it computes the amount of data each App has used and there you can see for yourself the culprit Apps

 

Your phone computes the amount of data each App has used and there you can see for yourself the culprit Apps
Your phone computes the amount of data each App has used and there you can see for yourself the culprit Apps

Making sense?

Now the best way to avoid losing your money to sharks called Econet is this;
Go to the settings of your phone and go to data usage, then set data usage limit, a feature that will allow you to set the amount of data that can run before your phone gives you a warning or stops any data usage.

Still in the data usage settings, you can be able to view each App and the amount of data it has used.

Here, you can tap on the App and you will be able to restrict background data for each App.

Background data is the data an App uses silently as long as the device is connected to the internet, whether it is locked or not.

Restricting background data for each App means that an App will only access the internet when you have opened it.

Restricting  background data for each App means that an App will only  access the internet when you have opened it.
Restricting background data for each App means that an App will only access the internet when you have opened it.

There is also an option in settings to have apps ask you when they need to update and you can say No!

NOTE: You can have Whatsapp access background data because if you restrict it, this means Whatsapp messages will only come in when you go to Whatsapp.

With Whatsapp, you have to go to Whatsapp then choose settings then Chat settings.

With Whatsapp, you have to go to Whatsapp then choose settings then Chat settings.
With Whatsapp, you have to go to Whatsapp then choose settings then Chat settings.

From here, you go to Media auto-download then untick all for images and videos because if you do not, as soon as you recieve a message with a picture or video (sometimes too big), Whatsapp automatically downloads it even if you do not want it!

You know how some people send some stuff that’s shitty and heavy.

The same goes for GMAIL, you can disable auto downloads for attachments.

After doing all this, make sure when you ‘juice your phone’ you first turn off your data (under settings/ mobile data) so that when you ‘juice’ you can be able to make calls, or buy the relevant data bundles (Whatsapp, Facebook bla blah) before any background Apps -not Econet- chew your airtime!

Another thing you need to do is to avoid downloading some silly Apps that constantly have adverts popping up. Those adverts use data because they are coming from some server. There are also some Apps that update too regularly, avoid them.

Another thing you need to do  is to avoid downloading some silly Apps that constantly have adverts popping up
Another thing you need to do is to avoid downloading some silly Apps that constantly have adverts popping up

Remember, Play Store has millions of Apps and many claim to do what they can’t do – like polygraph, or heartbeat check Apps!

So, the best way to have the genuine Apps that won’t do silly things on your phone is to check for those with a blue diamond.

You see, Econet only charges for the data that you use, so as much as it is expensive and its service it sometimes very bad, they never bill you for what you did not use.

The attached images of how to do this stuff can be different from what our phone looks like as the settings, language and interface differ with each Android version and phone type.

So, since Econet’s customer service is so shitty that – despite them telling us customer calls are important to them- they take over ten minutes to allow you to speak to a ‘customer representative’, feel feel free to Whatsapp me (Whatsapp only) to +263 773 245 709 and ask about your specific device.
But remember you got to have data to Whatsapp me, but of course, I am available to help you to avoid future losses of your valuable money.

48 thoughts on “When your airtime vanishes, cuplrit’s not Econet Zimbabwe

  1. Eh Tapiwa thanks for the informed presentation or defense I just have a small question though, what happens when I turn my data off and still I wake up and still there is no airtime in my phone?

    I am a developer , I make mobile apps and websites, you can look at my website below. I would love it if you were to break it down to me how that’s possible. And I recently moved to Telecel permanently and I alas I can sleep with my data on and I still find my airtime intact, whats the catch. You can chose to go layman or very technical with me either way I think I will understand you.

    1. Costa, that’s weird, especially if you check your airtime before you turn on the data. But I suppose it could be a technical issue with the billing system of Econet whereby they bill you after usage. It has happened to me, I recharged my phone with $5 I was browsing Facebook for about 20 minutes. When I checked my airtime, it was still at $5. I turned off the data so that I could make a call. I was surprised when I checked my airtime again before making the call and with data off, it was now $3,80 something! I also assume that Econet charges a little more on their data than the rest. But I guess the important thing is to reduce the phone’s usage of data and this way it will be easy to confront Econet with a solid case like yours because as long as the phone is still set to consume data, Econet will just simply give that excuse and get away with murder in some instances

  2. NO! I disagree with you. It is ECONET problem my dear. I use one phone in different countries and my data doesn’t disappear. My data doesn’t disappear even when I use telecel in Zimbabwe. This means only one thing. Something fishy about ECONET. If it was in fact data usage, why wouldn’t this phone use same data given I don’t change settings? I was in Harare and made several calls to ECONET after my data and airtime disappeared even when all my apps were disabled (which is something i don’t do with any service provider). I got fed up and decided to just move to telecel and that solved my data problem. ECONET need to stop it otherwise they continue losing customers. Period!

    1. Loveness, you raise a valid point. I think the starting point is to make sure your phone is set to where it cannot chew data unnecesarily. Then in that case all the shenanigans of Econet can be exposed, because when you call them, their excuse is simple- they simply say your phone has used airtime on background data. But I think on a technical issue though, Econet’s internet seems to be the fastest and has the highest bandwith and the largest 3g coverage and I am sure you know that 3G consumes more data

      1. Thanks for the comment. I use faster internet outside Zim on the same phone but still they consume less than half the data of econet even when I have less apps running.

    1. i do that and normally when data disappears then airtime disappears too. As long as your data is gone, the phone starts to use airtime, isn’t it. Instead of giving each other lessons on how to stop econet from stealing our data and airtime; isn’t it best to lobby to ECONET to change their ways and live normal like we do with Telecel and other international service providers?

      1. I dont think econet internet is faster than the internet I get in EU and other service providers who face more competition where my phone doesn’t chew data. My question is why do I only need to change settings only in Zimbabwe. Other countries i dont change settings and there isnt a problem of data and airtime disappearing. Econet needs to work harder to keep up with other service providers who are more transparent and professional. Now there are more internet providers and competition

  3. i do that and normally when data disappears then airtime disappears too. As long as your data is gone, the phone starts to use airtime, isn’t it. Instead of giving each other lessons on how to stop econet from stealing our data and airtime; isn’t it best to lobby to ECONET to change their ways and live normal like we do with Telecel and other international service providers?

  4. Shamwari these econet people steal I loaded money in my ecocash and they took a dollar for ecosure which I did not subscribe to…I called them and they said Buddie paid for me the first installment yet in the first place I did not join…be on the look out people.. if u have Eva received a msg about ecosure u WL see the next time u load money in your ecocash wallet its going to them

  5. All those settings having been done, still the airtime is being chewed..The question is why does not that happen with Telecel or NetOne but Econet subscribers only?

  6. you said nothing new we have exhausted all your tips already but airtime still vanishes. Dont capitalise on this to sell your expertise its econet’s problem

    1. imi hazvisi zvemadata kani varikuba vanhu ava ini ndakajusa 80c neeccocash to my surprise ndagara less than 1hr ndakaona masara 38c apa fn yangu haitoiti kana zvedata ndakarwadziwa izvezvi ndavakutoshandisa net 1 pane zvirikuitika kueconet asi rina manyanga hariputirwe ini ndakarwadziwa

  7. Tapiwa i hear you but i beg to differ my dear. I am using a Nokia C3 and Econet has stolen my airtime several times. I always use bundles but my airtime still disappears so urikuti chii. My conclusion is Econet guys are thieves period. Ngamasela bo ah.

  8. i beg to differ here en there with yo presentation altho you have highlyted major points. i blame econet coz i had 40 mb in my phone bt surprisingly my main balance is always being chewed up. Neva trust masiwa

  9. Am writting from Malawi and i would like to thank you very much for your good advice.keep it up!!!

  10. dont be quick to remove econet from culprits. I am in TANZANIA using Tigo line. I bought 150Mb valid for 7 days for 1000 shillings (60 us$ cents). what do you say to that

  11. it is only econet that chews money on backgroung applications, i use mtn and my bundles and airtime nrver disappears it is amazing

  12. hello.

    yes the article is well documentated and well explained :-But some of us hv long done dat and we still fall victim to econet financial money sucking ploys…i bet they designed so many ways to chew tht little cent we have through msgs like Rhapsody,3443 msgs, all to ma msgs tuno pinda..they wont take much but i noticed 95c becoming 46c in a space of 10mins…Tato jaira

  13. That is Econet’s problem my brother, if you migrate to Telecel you won’t find the same nightmare l am facing with Econet. There billing system is somewhat nonsense. Imagine they say 15c per minute to call, but when you have 15c in your phone you won’t be able to call anyone. Why are they not billing per second.
    If you top up Facebook and Whatsapp bundles and some few cents in your phone, they start by exhausting those few cents before they go on bundles.
    Maybe uri kutsvaga hako basa kuEconet buda pachena.

    1. That is Econet’s problem my brother, if you migrate to Telecel you won’t find the same nightmare l am facing with Econet. Their billing system is somewhat nonsense. Imagine they say 15c per minute to call, but when you have 15c in your phone you won’t be able to call anyone. Why are they not billing per second.
      If you top up Facebook and Whatsapp bundles and some few cents in your phone, they start by exhausting those few cents before they go on bundles.
      Maybe uri kutsvaga hako basa kuEconet buda pachena.

  14. I use an iOS device. If anyone needs help with that, i can help. Its more or less the same, turn off background data for application and also monitor which apps are using more data et cetera

  15. i agree with u bcoz i also followed what you said and my 4n is now consuming less data than it used to be. so sometimes econet is not to be blamed

  16. Econet irikudya mari mdara, why defend them? I have used Cell C, and not a single kilobyte of my data was stolen ever, saka why ALWAYS them?

  17. that’s econet problem here. i use a dual sim galaxy star and with same setings once i switch to econet i get updates notifications of Facebook messages popping up but that doesn’t happen with net one. so i still blame econet.

  18. Thanx but been there, done that.I think the real culprit is the sms they periodically send u.They charge a small fee eg.0.40c per week lets say for soccer updates or ecosure.Those sms updates which keep on coming are the suspects.Please next tym do ur research before implying other ppl are idiots

  19. That’s very true Econet is stealing our airtime in the name of background data. Tapiwa you are right to say apps chew airtime in the background but Econet is taking advantage and stealing. I use an android Sony fone and had problems with these thefts. I have used it for over a year now but never had these thefts until recently when tariffs were reduced. I foned econet customer service once and was told what Tapiwa explained and we went through the steps together and was told its now fine although I had already restricted my apps before. I kept losing airtime. foned again and repeated the process but it never worked . I kept losing or 2 or 3 dollars several times. then went to their shop and the consultant actually did all the settings and said its fine but the same day I lost almost $2 and was shocked. I foned customer service and they told me to go back to the shop. I even checked data usage it still does not amount to the stolen money. I only use whatsapp which I subscribe $3 unlimited monthly bundle. I know there other apps that use data but on checking they take less than 1 MB per day. why didn’t it happen the rest of 2014? I then concluded that Econet are stealing from me and I have stopped to recharge that line and I am now using Telecel. ECONET ARE STEALING FROM US IN ORDER TO RECOVER LOST REVENUE BECAUSE POTRAZ FORCED ALL NETWORKS TO REDUCE TARIFFS TO 15C PER MINUTE BUT THIS HURT ECONET MORE BECAUSE OF THE MASSIVE INVESTMENTS THEY HAVE DONE. TAKE IT FROM ME PEOPLE

  20. When I turn off my data before loading any econet airtime, why do I still loose 4-6 cents from the original amount purchased????

  21. Econet r theives .i use an X2 ,nokia it doesn’t updAte whatsapp(my only app) without my permission bt still my airtym z gettin missin.

  22. Nah econet are thieves period if you use their emergecy top up service they take the whole dollar when u recharge

  23. Have lost airtym even when l use a simple that does not hv back ground updates . I understand your point of android phones a others models that have auto updates

  24. I’m shocked that many people are denying that their phones are chewing their airtime. You changed lines yes from one network to another but none of you has tried changing handset to kambudzi. Try using a non-data phone and see if you’ll lose it in the same manner.

    Also check if you have no other subscriptions such as Mobile News ($0.875/week for Zimpapers and $0.80/week for AMH publications. Other subscriptions may include Quotes of the day, Love notes, relationship tips, Buddie Beatz, Mobile Job alerts

  25. and y econet alone and not telecel and netone???????econet is a company of pure thieves dont defend them.if i replace my econet line wit a telecel line i wil get my ait time intact??????wy econet alone

  26. the problem with econet is that they sign you up for some services whithout your consent like love quotes ,inspiration quotes e.t.c- and they charge you for it.

  27. econet are thieves. i was in SA recently using cell c. i would buy bundles and remain with a positive balance and not even a single cent was spent. come back in Zim and i recharge my airtime always disappears. i have called econet several times and stopped all these stupid subscriptions but my airtime still dissappears. vanhu veEconet imbavha. haisi nyaya yefone but problem irikueconet period.

Leave a comment